Something broken is not the issue, how you deal with it is.

Monday evening I had the unpleasant experience of losing my phone and internet connection. As it was below -30 C it wasn’t a complete shock that things that are outside could break. My issue was not that my phone and internet service was broken, but the fact I could not find any information regarding this outage. My best luck was by phoning the Support line (using my cell), where I was greeted with a ” your estimated waiting time is 15-24 minutes”. When you get a fairly accurate estimate you get your hopes up, right? One hour and 15 minutes later (that’s 75 minutes) I was greeted by a support person whose responded to my “outage report” with the heart warming and comforting word “yes”. Or it may actually have been more like “aha”. No apologies. No information on what was going on other that “there is an issue in your area”.

It is not my intend to trash the lady I was talking to. She did not break the system and she did not know what was going on. It is Shaw I am trashing for not letting their employees and customers know what was going on. Is it that hard to put a note on your website stating that a specific area is currently experiencing issues and being serviced, or have some sort of message at the beginning of the support line’s automated system? Good communication can be easy and goes a long way with positive experience with a brand.

Again, with the weather circumstances, and just in general, I fully understand things break. But how you deal with and communicate about this outage as a service provider is how customers experience it. Big fail for Shaw in this case. I just hope it is due to their inexperience with outages.

Leave a Reply

